# SPECIAL MEETING

# CITY OF LA VERNE

Tim Hepburn, Mayor Muir Davis, Mayor Pro Tem Robin Carder, Council Member Rick Crosby, Council Member Wendy M. Lau, Council Member



www.cityoflaverne.org (909) 596-8726 - Phone (909) 596-8740 - Fax City Hall Council Chamber 3660 D Street La Verne, CA 91750

### Monday, July 18, 2022 - 6:00 p.m. La Verne City Hall - Council Chambers 3660 D Street, La Verne, CA 91750

In compliance with the American Disabilities Act, any person with a disability who requires a modification or accommodation in order to participate in a meeting should contact the City Clerk's Office at (909) 596-8726 at least 48 hours prior to the meeting. Regular Meetings are held on the 1st and 3rd Monday of every month.

To facilitate public participation for those who do not wish to attend in person, the meeting is still made available virtually to residents. Below are the following opportunities on how to participate:

- 1) View the meeting through the City's website at <u>www.cityoflaverne.org</u> and click on the green "Council Meeting Live Stream" button.
- 2) Individuals can email their comments to the Assistant City Clerk at <u>cityclerk@cityoflaverne.org</u> up to noon on the day of the meeting. Those comments will be shared with City Council in advance of the City Council meeting and included as part of the permanent record. Please be advised that public comments submitted by emails or any other format to the City are public records that will be made available for public viewing.
- 3) Individuals who wish to share their comments directly during the meeting may do so by emailing the Assistant City Clerk at <u>cityclerk@cityoflaverne.org</u> with their phone number and the item(s) they wish to speak on. Requests will be accepted before and throughout the meeting and staff will call you back at the appropriate time. Once items are considered by the City Council, no further public comment on that matter will be accepted. A time limit of 3-minutes is set for all public comments.
- wish 4) participate lf vou to via Zoom, vou will need to register at https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN U-PjP08HTPmRD1KC0gz2Vw before 5:00 p.m., on Monday, July 18, 2022, and please be aware that space is limited. You will have the ability to watch the meeting in real time and raise your hand to request to comment as appropriate on the current agenda item(s). Once it is your turn to speak, you will be brought into the meeting and have the ability to turn your video on when called upon.

#### 1. **CALL TO ORDER**

#### 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

3. ROLL CALL: Council Member Lau, Council Member Crosby, Council Member Carder, Mayor Pro Tem Davis and Mayor Hepburn.

#### Bonita High School Girls' Softball 2022 4.

The Bonita High School Girls Softball team finished with an overall record of 28-6-1. The 28 wins marked the most wins in Bonita Softball History. The softball team went 13-2 in league, were Palomares League Champions, as well as the Division 3 CIF Champions, and became the first softball team in school history to win CIF. In the 1<sup>st</sup> Round of CIF, the girls defeated EI Rancho 9-2. In the 2<sup>nd</sup> Round the girls defeated Kennedy High School 5-0 and Brooklyn Shroyer threw a Perfect Game with 12 strikeouts. In the Quarter-Finals Round the girls defeated Sunny Hills 2-1, with Alyssa Doucette hitting a 2-run HR in the bottom of the 6<sup>th</sup> inning. In the Semi-Finals, the girls defeated Temescal Canyon 4-1 and in the CIF Championship game, the girls defeated Tesoro 6-0 and were the only team in the championships with a shutout win. Bonita Softball also went on to compete in the Division 2 State Championships where they defeated Rancho Buena Vista High School from San Diego 5-2, before they were defeated by Torrance High School in the Regional Semi-Finals 3-2. Brooklyn Shroyer was the Palomares League MVP, the San Gabriel Valley Player of the Year, as well as the Prep 210 Sports Co-Player of the Year with Alyssa Doucette. The Bearcats were coached by Darren Baumunk, Jeff Butler, Phillip Phong, and Wendy Crawford.

Aries Alonso Kali Blount Audrey Garza Breanna Orosco Avery Rubalcava Lauryn Ureno Camryn Van-Valkenburgh

Ruth Gray Sofia Ortiz Kailey Scott Melany Vaca

Caitlin Crispo Kaitlyn Maaske Rylee Powell Brooklyn Shroyer Olivia Washington

Alyssa Doucette Hailey Marquez Mireva Rico Bryce Shroyer

#### 5. Adjournment

The Next Regular Meeting of the La Verne City Council is scheduled for Monday, July 18, 2022 at 6:30 p.m.

## **ADVISORY STAFF**

- Robert Russi, City Manager
- JR Ranells, Assistant City Manager
- Robert Kress, City Attorney
- Lupe Gaeta Estrella, Assistant City Clerk
- Shawn Igoe, Public Works Director
- Eric Scherer, Community Development Director
- Mike Yelton, Interim Finance Director
- Colleen Flores, Police Chief
- Christopher Nigg, Fire Chief
- Yvonne Duran, Community Services Manager
- \_Cody Howing, City Engineer

Posting Statement: On July 12, 2022, a true and correct copy of this Agenda was posted on the bulletin board at La Verne City Hall, 3660 D Street, La Verne, and on the City's website at cityoflaverne.org.